RSS

2 out of 3 ain’t bad!

21 Sep

Well, my goal this week was to get 3 books bound, but really, it was closer to 2 and a half.  But I think I can be ok with that… Still a pretty good week for me, and I always enjoy this process 🙂

Here is a picture of the second one I made using my Own Stuff

2013-09-20 18.09.30A

 

I love this one!  I started with a bunch of tissue boxes I had.  So I started cutting them up (for the pages).  Then I realized a had a lot of cardboard of comparable sizes, so those when in the pile too.  I kept cutting, and soon had a pile about and inch and a half tall.  Perfect!  I used an old pizza box lid and cut it in half for the covers.  Then I covered those with mono-printed deli-paper.  I stitched it together with left over sock yarn (yes, I have A LOT of this (maybe 200 balls? I have knit many socks before I discovered paint…).  I was introduced to THIS video months ago, and I love it because it is single sheets (no fold) and lays as flat as a coptic stitch binding.  Added a little more paint, stamped some flowers.  A little more paint, a few embellishments from the embellishment drawer (including a Tim Holtz), she is done and ready to throw some paint at! 🙂

What did you create this week?

PS- next week is alter-something week.  but I have never done it before. any ideas what I should alter? any tips?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “2 out of 3 ain’t bad!

  1. razorcandy

    September 22, 2013 at 5:39 am

    beautiful 🙂

     
    • Lissa'a Long Yarn

      September 22, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      Thx, I hope I can put something worthy in it… 🙂

       
      • razorcandy

        September 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm

        am wondering how many pages were made for each of the books? & what size?

         
  2. Lissa'a Long Yarn

    September 24, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    That is a really great question! I am sorry I didn’t think of including that… (and can you believe I had to go back and count? lol) The one pictured above is 22 cardboard pagers (so if you use both sides, it’s 44), and the green one is 20 pieces of 8.5×11 folded in half, so 80 if you use both sides). I hope that makes sense 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
